Repurposed Theatre

Foto: Florian Krauss

SORRY
MONSTER TRUCK & THE FOOTPRINTS OF DAVID

  • 23/08 9pm / 24/08 7pm
  • 4Baustelle Kleines Haus
  • English
  • 25€ / 15€ / red. 8€

Five thin, orphaned children from Bariga, a poor neighbourhood in the Nigerian megacity Lagos, meet a fat white man on a white canvas. Childish innocence meets the feared foreigner, complete with chocolate. African lack of opportunity meets stereotypical European guilt, contemporary Nigerian dance meets European conceptual theatre. This cannot go well, you suspect, and suddenly you find yourself in the middle of an absurdly comical horror film, complete with vampires. But who’s sucking whose blood here? German performance group Monster Truck, in collaboration with Nigerian company The Footprints of David, don’t shy away from any clich. and wade into the shallows of post-colonial art discourse. Referencing images we’re all familiar with, they implicate the audience in irresolvable conflicts, simply by being there. Can we escape the question of post-colonial guilt? Or is this a meeting eye-to-eye, in the shadow of asymmetrical power relations, doomed to fail from the start? An unfathomable predicament, where you’re welcome to laugh – and cough up some money.

  • Artistic directors Monster Truck & Segun Adefila
  • Sound Alice Ferl
  • Light Stine Hertel
  • Artistic collaboration Seun Awobajo
  • Production management ehrliche arbeit – freelance office for culture
  • Artist management Abiodun Adefila, Theresa Pommerenke
  • With Muiz Adebayo, Moses Akintunde, Andreas Klinger, John Lakutu, Ridwan Rasheed, Waris Rasheed

A production by Monster Truck and The Footprints of David, Sophiensaele Berlin, Theater Rampe Stuttgart, Forum Freies Theater Düsseldorf, Goethe-Institut Nigeria, funded by the TURN Fund of the German Federal Cultural Foundation and the Berlin Senate Chancellery for Cultural Affairs.

Supported by the Goethe-Institut.

Supported by the NATIONALES PERFORMANCE NETZ Guest Performance Fund for Theatre, which is funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media and the Departments of Culture and Arts of the German federal state.

Nachgenutztes Theater

Foto: Florian Krauss

SORRY
Monster Truck & The Footprints of David

  • 23/08 21 Uhr / 24/08 19 Uhr
  • 4Baustelle Kleines Haus
  • Englisch, wenig Sprache
  • 25€ / 15€ / erm. 8€

Auf weißer Leinwand treffen fünf dünne Waisenkinder aus Bariga, einem Armenviertel der nigerianischen Mega-Metropole Lagos, auf einen dicken, weißen Mann. Kindliche Unschuld trifft den gefürchteten Fremden samt Schokolade. Afrikanische Chancenlosigkeit auf den Stereotyp europäischen Schuldbewusstseins, zeitgenössischer nigerianischer Tanz auf europäisches Konzepttheater. Das kann nicht gut gehen, ahnt man und befindet sich mitten in einem absurd-komischen Horrorfilm samt Vampiren. Und wer saugt hier wen aus? Die deutsche Performance-Gruppe Monster Truck zusammen mit dem nigerianischen Choreografen Segun Adefila und seiner Kompanie The Footprints of David scheuen kein Klischee und begeben sich in die Untiefen des postkolonialen Kunst-Diskurses. Sie zitieren Bilder, die jeder kennt, und verstricken den Zuschauer qua bloße Anwesenheit in unlösbare Konflikte. Gibt es ein Entkommen aus der postkolonialen Schuldfrage? Oder ist eine Begegnung auf Augenhöhe im Schatten asymmetrischer Machtverhältnisse von vornherein zum Scheitern verurteilt? Eine abgründige Verstrickung, bei der gelacht und gezahlt werden darf.

  • Konzept Monster Truck, Segun Adefila
  • Dramaturgie Marcel Bugiel
  • Sound Alice Ferl
  • Licht & Technische Leitung Stine Hertel
  • Künstlerische Mitarbeit Oluwaseun Awobajo
  • Produktionsleitung ehrliche arbeit - freies Kulturbüro
  • Mit Muiz Adebayo, Moses Akintunde, Andreas Klinger, John Lakutu, Ridwan Rasheed, Waris Rasheed

Eine Produktion von Monster Truck und The Footprints in Koproduktion mit Theater Rampe Stuttgart, Forum Freies Theater Düsseldorf, Goethe-Institut Nigeria und SOPHIENSÆLE. Gefördert im Fonds TURN der Kulturstiftung des Bundes sowie durch den Regierenden Bürgermeister von Berlin – Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten.

Gefördert durch das Goethe-Institut.

Diese Veranstaltung wird ermöglicht durch das NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ im Rahmen der Gastspielförderung Theater aus Mitteln des Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien sowie der Kultur- und Kunstministerien der Länder.